Early Career Ecologist Profile: Meet Mike SanClements

Hello!

As this is my first post, I thought I’d take some time to introduce myself. So, here you go, a little more about me:

I’m happiest in life when on a trail run, catching some live music, getting a new stamp in my passport, or waking up in my sleeping bag. Combined with a deep love for books and ideas, these are the things that have shaped me personally and professionally. More importantly, they motivate me to work toward the preservation of our natural world and its inhabitants (that includes us – people).

My career-related interests are wide ranging. To date, my research has focused on biogeochemical cycling and anthropogenic disturbance in temperate and polar ecosystems. In less formal terms — I study how humans are changing the chemistry of natural environments. I am also extremely interested in science outreach, journalism, and the intersection of economics and ecology (e.g. climate adaptation).

To me, the most important thing is balancing the experiences that inspire my love for nature and humanity with a career that allows me to actively participate in bettering our world through education, research, conservation, and having fun.

That, my friends, is why I’m an ecologist.

More soon,

-Mike

Feel free to contact me at: michael.sanclements@colorado.edu or follow me @msanclem (https://twitter.com/#!/msanclem)

Mike SanClements is a staff scientist at the National Ecological Observatory (NEON) and affiliate faculty at the Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research at the University of Colorado. His website is www.mike-sanclements.com

